No-sew tutu – #pinaddicts challenge

I’m taking part in a blogging Pinterest crafting challenge! (This will come as no surprise to those who know me well, it was only a matter of time before something like this happened). It’s very simple – you find something you want to make on Pinterest, make it, and then show everyone else.

I decided to make this no-sew tutu that I pinned on my Pinterest board from Red Ted Art’s Blog.

No-sew tutu

It really is easy-peasy. You just cut strips of netting into lengths (I ordered mine off eBay – £2.99 for 25yds). Fold them in half and lay on top of a ribbon or piece of elastic

No-sew tutu

Then pull the two ‘tails’ behind the ribbon and back through the hole at the top, in a knot.
Keep on adding lengths of netting in the same way all the way along the ribbon.

No-sew tutu

And there you have it. Gertie didn’t seem too bothered by it, but I think she looks pretty bloody cute!

No-sew tutu

No-sew tutu

I’m now going to order loads of different coloured netting as I figure I can make any number of costumes using this technique – green and black for a witches costume, white for the Easter bunny etc etc. Love it!

Click here for more info on the #pinaddicts challenge on the Sew Scrumptious blog.

11 Comments

April 8, 2012 · 8:32 am

11 responses to “No-sew tutu – #pinaddicts challenge

  1. Love it! She looks gorgeous. Well done. Thanks for linking up. x

  2. Fab! I’ve also made one of these and my daughter loved it! x

  3. Aaaah turned out LOVELY! :-)

  4. I love this! Would make really good presents too. I made something similar but with material instead, going to try it with netting though. Your little girl is so cute! X

  5. So gorgeous! Must try to make sme of these for my little girls x

  6. Very clever and beautiful picture x

  7. I love net tutus and yours look beautiful in those colours. I made myself and my daughter one last year for Camp Bestival in the very stiff net. Really effective – but a bit itchy. Tulle is lovely but is pricier x thanks for joining us at #pinaddicts x

  8. Super cute! Great idea to do different ones – I think a rainbow one will definitely be made at the end… :)

Leave a Reply

