FUNharmonics – London Philharmonic Orchestra for kids

Official London Philharmonic Orchestra logo

Official London Philharmonic Orchestra logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

On the recommendation of a fellow London-mum blogger I have just booked tickets for the family to see the London Philharmonic Orchestra, FUNharmonics at the Southbank Centre in May. Presented by CBeebies’ Chris Jarvis, and featuring an 80-strong orchestra, it’s billed as  “the perfect introduction to the extraordinary drama and colour of orchestral music.”

Every year the LPO runs three concerts, each about an hour long. They are designed to appeal to kids, with lots of interaction. This will be the first I’ve been to so I’ll report back here, but they sound great. They’re aimed at 5-11 year-olds, but any age is welcome – I’m planning on taking my 2-year-old. The next concert is on May 11th and is titled: ‘BE AFRAID, BE VERY AFRAID’ and will include Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf, among other things. Upcoming dates in November and February next year include ‘The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra‘ and ‘Yikes Spikes’ featuring Roald Dahl’s The Porcupine. The concerts start at 12pm, but there are loads of free events going on in the Royal Festival Hall before and after the show, including ‘have-a-go’ sessions with orchestral instruments.

Tickets for the May concert are nearly all sold out. I’ve been told it is worth trying both the LPO and The Southbank Centre, as they have different ticket allocations and one may have some left even if the other is sold out. Prices range from £10-£18 (kids half-price)  depending on seat.

Here is a link to the original blog-post that inspired me to buy the tickets in the first place, with a short review of the last concert.

Click here for more ideas for things to do in London with kids.

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Things to do with kids in London

4 responses to “FUNharmonics – London Philharmonic Orchestra for kids

  1. Thank you for your thumbs up! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did…

  2. Ruthful

    Hi

    Any idea what age range these events would be good for?

    Thanks

    • As I understand it they are better for younger children up to about the age of 8 or so. But the website says anything up to 14! I’m taking my 2yo and 5yo so I’ll let you know how I get on!

  3. wow that sounds wonderful ! I hope you have a great time :) You must come back and tell us how it was
    http://myfroley.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

