Chocolate Cornflakes Easter nests

I found this fantastic idea on the blog Oscar’s Lunch. You take a simple chocolate Cornflake cake recipe, make a little dip in the middle and fill it with mini eggs. Et voila, crafting, baking and all sorts of yummy mummyness in one go. (I’m already such a cliche, I may as well embrace it.)

Chocolate cornflakes Easter nests

Ingredients (makes 12):
100g chocolate (we used milk choc as Stan prefers it)
50g butter
Two tablespoons of golden syrup
80g Cornflakes

Melt the chocolate, butter and syrup in a bowl over a pan of boiling water. When it’s all melted mix in the Cornflakes. Dish them up into cupcake holders and squash down in the middle to make a ditch for the mini eggs. Chill in the fridge for a couple of hours so they set before taking the cupcake holders off.

I’d recommend taking a look at the original idea on Oscar’s Lunch as she’s put some much nicer pictures than mine and proper instructions with a video and everything. Plus she’s done some with Shredded Wheat that look really nest-like.

Easter chocolate cornflakes nest

Stan was very pleased with the result. He has already been selling Easter biscuits to anyone who comes to the house to raise money for Grandad’s 2012 run, so I’m sure these will just be added to the ‘shop’.

9 Comments

Filed under Family, Interesting stuff online, Recipes

9 responses to “Chocolate Cornflakes Easter nests

  1. That looks great! I’m sure Stan will sell a lot of those!

  2. Adorable – how apt :D. I know I’d devour them and I’m a fully grown chap 😀

  3. Yeah, I’ve had a few myself…

  4. They look really yummy and are making me hungry. Despite the fact that Oscar wouldn’t touch the ones I made, they have all mysteriously vanished -can’t think where they went!

  5. Jo finsbury pk

    my granny used to make these with me, also can use shredded wheat for very convincing nests, cant remember if they taste as good as i am going back to the mid 80s now, will get round to making them with Luke, eventually…..

Leave a Reply

